top of page

Paris & London & Dublin: oh my.

This will forever be one of the most memorable weeks of my life. I had the opportunity to travel to 3 countries and 3 major European cities. Even though I traveled alone for most of the trip, it was such a life changing experience where I made new friends from places all over the world.

Sunday 2/26/17

The week-long adventure began Sunday afternoon after the annual Carnival parade in Vallendar. The parade was fun to experience because people from far and near gathered to line the streets of Vallendar. I never realized how many people lived in this region because there is typically no one in the streets but on this day, it was difficult to walk across the street. The celebration consisted of people dressed up in costumes (similar to Halloween) and they would march through the streets drinking and throwing out candy. After the parade, I made my way to Koblenz to board my bus to Paris! I boarded at 16:45 (4:45PM) and would arrive in Paris early Monday morning. The bus ride to Paris was by far the worse bus ride of the whole trip since this bus was packed and the people on board smelt bad, but the tickets are very cheap so I can’t complain.

Monday 2/27/17

Over 400 miles later, I finally arrived in Paris around 6:45AM. Paris is the capital of France with a population of 2.2 million people. Paris is a major European city famous for art, fashion, and of course the Eiffel Tower. The Arc de Triomphe was the first stop in Paris. This is one of the most famous monuments in Paris and is in the center of a roundabout. It honors those who fought/died for France during the French Revolution and holds the tomb of the unknown soldier from WWI. Not too far away and across the river stands the magnificent Eiffel Tower. I was left in astonishment when I first saw the tower. This has been a dream of mine since I first read about it in history class as a young child. I was lucky enough to get to go to the top of the Eiffel Tower too! The views from the top were unspeakable. You could see the whole city landscape from all sides. It was so windy at the top where you would almost fall when walking on a particular side. I tried my first macaron at the Eiffel Tower and yes, they are as wonderful as people say. I tried the coffee flavored one. For those who don’t know what macarons are, they are a small cake typically made from almonds, coconuts, or other nuts with flavoring and bright food coloring. On my way to the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Sainte-Chappelle, I came across the Hotel of Invalides, which is a museum and contains the remains of Napoleon Bonaparte. Unfortunately, I did not go inside. I also tried my first sugar crepe on my way to the cathedrals too. Crepes are very thin pastries, like a pancake, made of flour and eggs that are usally topped with toppings (commonly Nutella) and rolled or folded up. Finally, I made it to the Sainte-Chappelle but after waiting in a nonmoving line for 1hr, I decided to leave. There were tons of police everywhere and more began to show up so I thought it would be best to leave and go to the Notre Dame Cathedral. The Notre Dame Cathedral is a medieval Catholic cathedral and is a great example of the French Gothic architecture. Can you believe that this cathedral was finished with construction by 1345!? There have been restorations since then but it is so cool to experience the rich history in Europe because the USA is only 200+ years old. I began to make my way to the Louvre Museum, which holds the Mona Lisa. The Louvre Museum is the world’s largest museum. Once I made it to the museum, it began to downpour so I was standing in the rain to wait to get inside haha. People told me prior that the Mona Lisa is a disappointment since the painting is very small and you must stand very far back. Well, to me, I think that it was worth it because I have always wanted to see the painting in person. I remember watching “Courage the Cowardly Dog” and seeing the painting on there and I have wanted to see it since. I also saw the Venus de Milo and Winged Victory of Samothrace sculptures. After visiting the Louvre, I headed for the Sacré-Cœur Basilica. I came across the Palais Garnier, which is the opera house in Paris, on my way. I also found a Starbucks so I stayed there for a while to charge my phone and take advantage of the Wi-Fi since it had been so long since I had charged my phone or had any internet. The Palais Garnier has a beautiful exterior and I wish I could’ve gone inside. The Sacré-Cœur Basilica is a Roman Catholic church located at the top of a hill in the North part of the city overlooking Paris. I got there just in time to see the sunset. The views were wonderful and the church was stunning. Inside, the nuns were singing beautifully. My first day in Paris had officially came to an end and it was time to head to the place I was staying. Last semester at UIUC, I met a girl named Céline through a club. She lives in Paris and she was kind enough to let me stay with her for the night. It was great to be able to catch up with her and eat dinner at a French restaurant.

Tuesday 2/28/17

Day 2 in Paris began bright and early at 8:30AM since Céline had to go to work. My plans for the day were to go to the Palace of Versailles. She helped me with the confusing train system and showed me the correct stops to get there. She said that she may come to Germany to visit so hopefully she does. The Palace of Versailles is located outside of Paris in Versailles and is a royal château home to the French king, Louis XIV. The architecture was incredible and the inside of the palace was jaw dropping. There was no spare of detail in the palace. We were only allowed to go through certain parts of the palace; however, I wish we could have been allowed to see everything. I really wanted to see the opera house inside but there were no shows going on at the time. I can’t imagine what this place would look like during the summer because even on a drizzling day, the gardens were beautiful. The hall of mirrors inside the palace was one of the best parts. It’s something that you must see while in Paris because of the elegant work. After visiting the Palace of Versailles, I made my way back to Paris to spend the rest of my time in the city. I ended up going back to the Eiffel Tower to admire the fact that I was in Paris. I saw several signs for Paris 2024 Olympic Game Posters near the tower since Los Angeles and Paris are the only two cities left competing to host the games for Summer 2024. I also walked back to the Louvre Museum since it was now sunny and I wanted to get a glimpse of the outside with sunshine. By this time, the sunset was staring and I decided to relax and take it easy after 2 busy days of sightseeing. I waited for 21:00 (9:00PM) to come along so I could make my way back to the Eiffel Tower to view the lights during the night. Every hour, on the hour, thousands of lights sparkle for 5 minutes. I had to check this out since it is a once in a lifetime opportunity. I ended up staying and watching the tower until 22:30 (10:30PM) because I could not get enough of it. At this time, I needed to make my way back to the coach station to catch my next overnight bus to London. The bus departed at 23:55 (11:55PM) from Paris and would arrive early Wednesday morning in London after taking a ferry across the channel.

Wednesday 3/1/17

Over 280 miles later, I arrived in London around 8:00AM. London is the capital of England and the United Kingdom with a population of approximately 8.7 million people. London is also a major European city famous for fish and chips, Big Ben and the home of Queen Elizabeth- Buckingham Palace. The first thing I noticed in London were the signs for pedestrians on the roads. At almost every crosswalk, there were signs painted on the roads that told you which way to look before crossing the road. This was very helpful since I am used to looking left then right but in the U.K. they drive on the opposite side of the road. The first thing I adventured to was the Buckingham Palace. I was glad I got there when I did because every other day during the off season and every day during the summer, there is a changing of the guard ceremony and I was lucky enough to be in the front along the main gate. The Buckingham Palace is the residence of the Queen, or the reigning monarch of the U.K., and the headquarters for the administration. I was hoping I could have seen a glimpse of the Queen but I knew that would be very unlikely. Maybe someday in the future, I will see a monarch! I will also have to come back during the summer to tour the inside of the Buckingham Palace when the Queen is not there. The ceremony itself was cool to watch because there was a mini parade and a band. After the palace, I went to the Royal Mews. The Royal Mews is a mews of the British Royal Family. Mews is primarily a British term for a row of stables with carriages. I had the chance to see several of the royal carriages of which the current and previous monarchs rode in for various occasions. My favorite coach was the Gold State Coach which was used for every coronation since King George IV and is worth $1.57 million in 2014. After the Mews, I took a stroll through St. James’s Park just outside of the Buckingham Palace making my way to the Westminster Abbey. The Westminster Abbey is a Gothic church previously a Roman Catholic church but now is the Church of England (Anglican Christian). The Westminster Abbey is the traditional place of coronation and burial site for the British monarchs. Prince William and Miss Catherine Middleton were the most recent couple married here. Photography was not allowed in the Abbey (but how can you not take at least one picture because it is so beautiful). The Westminster Abbey was just as astonishing in the inside as it was on the outside. After the Abbey, I went nearby to the Palace of Westminster and Big Ben. The Palace of Westminster is the meeting place for the houses of Parliament of the U.K. and Big Ben is the nickname given for the bell tower and clock on the far end of the Palace of Westminster. I loved the Palace of Westminster because of the detail put into the building. The sound of the bells from Big Ben were nice to hear too. This is another place where I will have to come back in the summer when the houses of Parliament are not in session to tour the inside. I also loved all the red telephone booths throughout London but the most famous one is near the Parliament building. After viewing the Palace of Westminster, I met a student on a gap year from California outside the palace. We ended up eating lunch together since we were both alone. This was a cool experience because you never know who you will meet as long as you are willing to talk to people. I ordered Fish & Chips (chips=fries) since that is a famous meal from London. We said our goodbyes and I headed for the British Museum. The British Museum is dedicated to human, art, and cultural history and it was free. After the Museum, I made my way to my hostel. I walked through different areas of London to get the full experience and found a region that reminded me a lot of NYC. SoHo is the entertainment district and there were tons of it. Musicals like the famous Broadway performances and stores like the Lego Store and M&M’s were found in this region. I also was able to see the Palace of Westminster and the London Eye in the dark with all their lights. Finally, I made it to my hostel and was ready to get all rested for the next day.

Thursday 3/2/17

Day 2 in London began around 9:00AM as I made my way to the far corner of London to the Tower Bridge (London Bridge is falling down is based off the Tower Bridge). The Tower Bridge crosses the Thames river and has become an iconic symbol of London for its design. Of course, I had to walk across the bridge. Next, I began to walk to the Museum of London when I came across the Memorial to the Great Fire of London. This memorial commemorates the Great London Fire that burned the city for nearly 5 days and destroyed around 400 acres in the 1600s. Finally, I made it to the Museum of London which shows the history of London from prehistoric times to modern day London. After the Museum, I walked by St. Paul’s Cathedral and The Royal Courts of Justice. St. Paul’s Cathedral is an Anglican cathedral and sits on the highest point of land in London. The Royal Courts of Justice houses the High Court and the Court of Appeal of England and Wales. Both were beautiful and had unique architecture. A little further away was a place called Maxwell’s Bar & Grill. I’m not sure if you saw the previous video I shared on Facebook about the Burger Cheesebomb but it is basically a hamburger with bacon that comes with a cup of melted cheese that you pour on top. Ever since the video became viral on Facebook, I knew that I had to go there and try it for myself! After stuffing my face, it was time for my ride on the London Eye. The London Eye is a giant Ferris wheel overlooking the Thames River near the Palace of Westminster. The views were spectacular. I could see everything London had to offer from the business district, to the Buckingham Palace, to Big Ben. Once the Ferris wheel did a full rotation (takes approximately 30 minutes), it was time to make my way to the coach station. Once again, I managed to find a Starbucks so I could charge my phone before the ride to my next destination. I said goodbye to London at 18:00 (6:00PM) and headed to Dublin, where I would arrive early Friday morning.

Friday 3/3/17

Over 350 miles later, I arrived in Dublin around 6:00AM. Dublin is the capital of the Republic of Ireland and is home to approximately 500,000 people. Dublin is famous for its historic buildings and the Guinness Factory. The night before in London, I decided to book a trip to the Cliffs of Moher on the western coast of Ireland because I would not be able to go any other day. My options were to meet up with people from UIUC to celebrate Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day and tour the city on Saturday while they go to the Cliffs of Moher or go to the Cliffs of Moher on Friday and meet up with them that night and tour the city on Saturday. I chose the Cliffs of Moher and I’m glad I did because the views were breathtaking even in the rain. On the tour bus, I meet some people from Utah, Colorado, and Minnesota. I’m so glad that I am able to meet new people and experience the world with new friends. The tour took us to Kinvara, Ireland which is a small fishing village full of color. The bus traveled along the Atlantic coast so we could see the landscape of Ireland and the beautiful ocean hitting the rocks. We made our way through the Burren, which is a beautiful landscape and national park. The landscape is famous for its Limestone Rock as far as one could see. Here we stopped to view the mini cliffs to get a taste of what was to come. After a short stop, we made our way to Doolin where we stopped for lunch. After lunch, it was time for the Cliffs of Moher. We were told that on average, someone falls from the cliffs every 2 weeks (the last time someone fell was 6 weeks ago). Although it was pouring down rain, you could not be upset because the views were worth it (it is common for a lot of rain in Ireland and the U.K.). After we began to walk the cliffs, I could see why it was so easy to fall, there is a small wall and a little pathway for people to walk on; however, this path was sometimes not possible to walk through since the water would be too deep or it would be too muddy. In this case, you would have to cross the wall and walk on the edge. Keep in mind, it was so slippery from the rain and mud. As we were walking to a far cliff, one girl slipped and fell. Luckily, she was nowhere near the edge but sadly, she was covered completely in mud. I felt like I took a million pictures of the cliffs because with every step, the landscape would just get prettier. Since it rained, there were also waterfalls from the cliffs, which made it even more beautiful and enjoyable. Overall, I am glad that I chose this trip even with the rain. After the Cliffs of Moher, we headed back to Dublin. Once in Dublin, it was time to say goodbye to the people I met and make my way to my hostel. On my way, I randomly found my friends from WHU, who are studying abroad with me, in the streets. I was glad I found them, since I had not seen one of my friends since the week before. I decided to spend the night with them and go to a local Irish pub in Temple Bar and listen to live music.

Saturday 3/4/17

Day 2 in Dublin began around 10:00AM as I made my way to the Guinness Storehouse and Factory. On the way, I decided to walk to the Trinity College, where Harry Potter filmed inside the library. Unfortunately, I didn’t go inside since I have never watched the film and because it costed money. I also stopped by to admire the Christ Church Cathedral. Once I made it to the Guinness Storehouse, I learned about the brewing process for the perfect Guinness beer. The Guinness Storehouse is a brewing experience that tells the tale of Ireland’s most famous beer and apparently has a 9000-year lease for the property. After the tour, I had the opportunity to pour my own glass by doing it the Guinness way (45-degree angle). I also learned that it takes 119.5 seconds to pour the perfect pint of Guinness since you must wait for the foam to form on top. During this part of the tour, I met someone from Springfield, Illinois. Such a small world! We ended up taking our Guinness to the rooftop bar with a panoramic view of Dublin and got to know each other. After spending a lot of time at the Guinness Storehouse, I decided I was going to go to the St. Patrick’s Cathedral. My new friend decided to join too so we went together. The St. Patrick’s Cathedral is the National Cathedral of the Church of Ireland. This is also the tallest church in Ireland. I was expecting the cathedral to be much bigger but it was still gorgeous. After this, we made our way to the Four Courts. The Four Courts is Ireland’s main courts building and is the location for the Supreme Court, the High Court, and the Dublin Circuit Court. After viewing the massive building, it was time for lunch because we were both hungry. We stopped at a traditional Irish pub and restaurant called The Stag’s Head. Here I had one the best meals in my whole adventure abroad. It was called Beef & Guinness Casserole, which is slow cooked Irish beef and roast vegetables in a Guinness broth. It is served with colcannon potatoes inside the bowl and garlic bread. YUM! Once again, after eating our meals, it was time to say our goodbyes and for me, it was time to head to the airport to make the final stretch home. My flight left Dublin at 18:50 (6:50PM) and arrived in Cologne, Germany at 23:54 (11:54PM). I boarded a train to Koblenz with a connection in Cologne. Unfortunately, my connection was delayed for 20 minutes from a spillway on the tracks.

7 days, 6 nights, over 3000 miles, 6 busses, 5 trains, 4 countries, 3 cities, 2 hostels, 1 flight, and hours of fun later, I had finally arrived at my apartment in Vallendar around 1AM after taking a bus from Koblenz. It was time for rest after a long week of exhausting but exciting new adventures and traveling. Overall, I am glad I had the opportunity to travel to these three cities/countries even though I was alone for the most part. This trip made me learn more about myself, including the fact that I talk to myself way too much.

See you soon, but not too soon

-E

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page